Prosecution Districts

For organisational purposes, the National Prosecution Authority is divided into Prosecution Districts. There are five Prosecution Districts: Southern Finland, Western Finland, Northern Finland, Eastern Finland and Åland.

A Prosecution District is responsible for organising prosecution duties in criminal matters considered in its area. Additionally, Prosecution Districts

  • develop the prosecution activities in their areas under the guidance of the Office of the Prosecutor General
  • are responsible for the effectiveness of prosecution activities
  • supervise the legality and consistency of the activities of the prosecutors
  • take care of co-operation between authorities.

The Chief District Prosecutor heads a Prosecution District, assisted by Deputy Chief District Prosecutors.